A part of my playlist

To begin with, are there any songs that you really love? Love, because if ever there was a song written for you, it would be that song? Well, for me, I have a list of five (+2) songs that I love for different reasons.

1. I Hope You Dance, Lee Ann Womack

Livin’ might mean takin’ chances but they’re worth takin’,
Lovin’ might be a mistake but it’s worth makin’,
Don’t let some hell bent heart leave you bitter,
When you come close to sellin’ out reconsider,
Give the heavens above more than just a passing glance,
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance.

Have you heard of a better song or better lyrics? That awesome quality that philosophers talk about, that child like wonder is what we are urged not to lose. How can you possibly not fall in love with the song?

2. Fashion. Yes, you guessed it. It is by Lady Gaga. I don’t care if people call her eccentric, I love that song. She wrote it for me, no joke.
J’adore Weitzman, habillez-moi
Louis, Dolce Gabbana, Alexander McQueen, et oh
Merde I love those Manolo

If you ignore the ‘I live to be model thin’, because honestly, ‘I am not cute or built to be a fashion model’s size’, I love the song. Oh do I love those brands? Mc Queen, my heart flutters for. Prada, Gucci, Nina Ricci, Miu Miu. Oh my dear lord! Only if I could have a walk in closet for dresses and shoes. So dress me, cos I am your mannequin.

3. Belle, Beauty and the Beast
It’s beautiful. Absolutely. There’s got to be more than this provincial life for sure. Book worm, check. Don’t really fit in anywhere, check. Hopes for more than this provincial life, check. A book a day, check. Read books twice, thrice, oh heck if it’s your favourite, reading favourite parts as a ritual, check. So basically. I live that song, it’s been written for those who are nerds. Weehee.

&

Monta re, Lootera
Many a evening were spent listening to this beautiful song. Heart, crazy heart goes there where it isn’t supposed to go.

Maati ko ye chandan sa, maathe pe sajaye re
(Confused heart, it thinks sand is sandal(wood (powder)), and applies it to the forehead)
Zubaan pe jo moh maaya, namak lagaye re
(Those worthless attractions, luring it)
Ke dekhe na bhale na jaane na daayare,
(It doesn’t know its limits..)
Disha haara kemon boka
Monn-ta re..

(This mad heart of mine, it is directionless)

4. Colours of the Wind, Pocahontas
You think the only people who are people
Are the people who look and think like you
But if you walk the footsteps of a stranger
You’ll learn things you never knew you never knew

This song urges you to broaden your thinking and become aware of things unknown to you. Empathy is a virtue.

5. Our Song & Hey Stephen, Taylor Swift

I was riding shotgun with my hair undone
In the front seat of his car
He’s got a one-hand feel on the steering wheel
The other on my heart

And well she goes on to write their song, but then their song is the slamming screen door, their song is ‘When we’re on the phone and you talk real slow, cos it’s late and your mama don’t know.’

Now Hey Stephen is dear to me.

The way you walk, way you talk, way you say my name –
It’s beautiful, wonderful, don’t you ever change.
Hey Stephen,
Why are people always leaving?
I think you and I should stay the same.

Well, you know what happens when your crush calls you? You think your name never sounded better, right? So Taylor Swift is good at capturing those silly teenager types emotions.

Now I cannot include Lana Del Rey or Regina Spektor. Their songs would require a whole new post. And well Adele, too, I guess. But LDR and RS are extra special.

Leave a Reply

