Samson, Regina Spektor

Understandably, my dad (and I think my mom too) hates Regina Spektor’s ‘Samson‘. Why, you ask? Well, there was a time when my mornings would start with that song. Lot’s of people (my folks included) think it sounds as though RS is crying/weeping in it, but I for one, love it. I love that song.

Oh, I cut his hair myself one night
A pair of dull scissors in the yellow light
And he told me that I’d done alright
And kissed me till the morning light

I still love the song. It brings back memories, tears, and a very bittersweet aftertaste. I tried to give my interpretation of this song to someone and I wish I had done a better job of it. Anyway, so the reason I absolutely love this song is because of its theme. How many times have we heard of Samson’s version of events? Here, at last, is Delilah’s version. Did she have any regrets at all? Did she love Samson at all?

Regina Spektor is a magician. I think what she does is beautiful magic. He (Samson), was her (Delilah) sweetest downfall. Because, his death, ultimately, is her downfall. Because being separated from him is her downfall. Falling in love with him is her sweetest downfall. You should listen to the song, it is eerily haunting and maybe, a little bit like wailing, but hey, given the theme, that’s only expected.

Love is unconditional. Any relationship is fraught with power struggles, but true love rejoices here because Samson confesses to his weakness (his strength and hair connection), what power struggle? He not only accepts but forgives Delilah for cutting his hair. He knows that, now, after his hair is cut, he has lost all his power and yet finds it in himself to forgive her and consoles her that it’s ok and that she did well. Almost, as if they were talking about weather. Forget about enemies plotting against him. And then you have Delilah repeating the same thing, that she has to go. She has to. That one phrase, perhaps, best explains that she might have gone a little overboard with her feelings. That phrase holds so much meaning. She knows she loves him now and there begins her (sweetest) downfall.

But then they have that one night and he makes the most of it by kissing her till the morning light. No need to say goodbye, at least not yet.

RS– you are uh-ma-zing.

Leave a Reply

